School’s back in session?!

I’m out of the habit of thinking in terms of “school year” and “summer vacation.” Adults generally don’t get the summer off. I don’t think tha’s fair – I think we should do like France and shut down for most of August. Everyone could go on vacation! Off course my vacation would probably consist of sitting around knitting, which I do anyway so maybe there would be no point.

Traveling Woman shawl in Big Girl Pink

Traveling Woman shawl in Big Girl Pink

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, I’m getting closer to completing the Traveling Woman shawl – and I’m not going to have enough Big Girl Pink to complete it! I have a plan though. I’m going finish it with another of Abstract Fiber’s Matisse yarn in Hydrangea – it has the same pink in it but also purple so dark it’s almost black and a range of colors in between.  I think it is going to be sharp!  If not, I’ll frog it and make a scarf out of the Hydrangea and go back to the planning board for the shawl.

Other news – we’ve finally got a date for the sweater class with Kim Neufeld!  This class will teach how to use the Elizabeth Zimmerman percentage method to make seamless sweaters in the round without a pattern.  Learning how to make sweaters like this is one of the best things I’ve ever done when it comes to my knitting.  The blue sweater that is on the dress form in the shop is made using a variation of this method.  Dates for the class are both on Saturdays from 1 to 4 (September 24 and October 15).  The class is $45 for all six hours and if you buy your sweater’s worth of yarn at Oh Yarn It, you’ll get a 10% discount – just let me know that is what it is for.

Seamless Sweater

Seamless Sweater

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Also in class news, don’t forget the Knit Stitchionary 101 class this Saturday (August 20) and the Crochet Stitchionary 101 class next Saturday (August 27).  These classes are for you if you are a new knitter or crocheter and are ready to move on to the next level.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Leanne
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 02:07:00

    I have actually been “back to school” shopping for myself, somewhat…even though I’m not going to school!! Hehe!

    And I SO want to take that sweater class!!! I know for sure I couldn’t be there on Sept. 24, though. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

