Tangents

I feel like I’m bouncing all over the place today. Someone cast the “Oh Shiny” spell on me! (a friend told me about the spell from a role-playing-game; you cast the “Oh Shiny” spell and the person on whom you cast it, gets distracted continuously. It’s seems appropriate for me this week. I started cooking breakfast this morning then decided to make refried beans and totally forgot my breakfast, then went back to breakfast and forgot the beans because I started playing with the dog. See “Oh Shiny!” What was I saying?)

Micro Dog hard at work

Micro Dog hard at work

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I decided to listen to podcasts on Saturday afternoon while working on a my summer KAL. I had Brenda Dayne’s “Cast On” playing (listen to this if you haven’t before! Anyone who starts their podcast with the sound effects of lightsabers is worth listening too!). Where was I? Oh yeah, so on the podcast she described a shawl she was working on called Simmer Dim and inspiration hit (Oh Shiny) and the KAL got tossed in the basket and I grabbed the Pagewood Farm Alyeska I had sitting aside and cast on a shawl that popped into my mind when Brenda’s was describing the Simmer Dim. I’m calling it Inspiration (Oh Shiny didn’t seem to fit because it isn’t really shiny – pretty but not shiny!) I haven’t worked on anything else really since then. I even knit on it while at Harry Potter this weekend (which was fantastic by the way – of course I’m biased. I love the Harry Potter books and the movies. Unlike some of my friends who aren’t happy with the movies because they aren’t exactly like the books, I look at the movies as something completely different from the books.) What was I saying? Oh the shawl!

Inspiration

Inspiration (aka the "Oh Shiny" Shawl)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Pagewood Farm Alyeska is great to work with. That’s the merino, cashmere, and nylon sock yarn. It is so unbelievably soft it’ll blow your mind, and it knits like a dream. It doesn’t split, it doesn’t explode of the needles, and I think it actually massages your hands while you knit (ok, that might be an exaggeration, but it is amazing!). I’m not sure where the shawl will end up; I know it is starting with a garter stitch triangle and I want to do lace around the edges of the triangle, but I’m not sure of what lace I want to do around it – I might even crochet, I just don’t know yet.  And did I mention the color?  It’s a little hard to tell but the yarn – Lavender Fields is the colorway – is purples, greys, and greens; it really looks like a field of lavender in bloom.  Just amazing!  Needless to say, the KAL hasn’t come very far.

 
Summer KAL

Summer KAL

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
And I am working on the CAL too, but I feel like I’m getting nowhere.  It’s taking forever!  It isn’t really, it’s doubled in size this week, but it still feels like I’m going nowhere on it!
Summer 2011 CAL

Summer 2011 CAL

Leave a Reply

