Happy Independence Day!

Ok, I realize the 4th is next week not this week. I’m just being proactive!

Abstract Fiber in Alfalfa

Abstract Fiber in Alfalfa

I’m also in heaven. I spent yesterday hugging yarn (and a good deal of this morning). I’d still be hugging yarn given the choice. I know, I love yarn. If you have read this blog/newsletter before, you know I love yarn. I’m obsessed, but I figure if I’m going to have an obsession it might as well be with something creative not destructive. So, why am I hugging the yarn this week more than normal? Because new yarn came in yesterday. And, oh what yarn it is!

Unpacking Abstract Fiber

Unpacking Abstract Fiber

Abstract Fiber is a company out of Portland, Oregon and they handpaint all their yarn (and fiber – hmmm, gives me ideas!) in the most amazing colors you can imagine. When I ordered, I let Susan know what fibers I wanted and asked her to surprise me with the colors; boy did she succeed! I have in two kinds of lace yarn, two sock yarns, and one worsted weight. I can’t explain the colors except to sigh – I literally held a skein of yarn and stared at it for 20 minutes yesterday tracing the various colors in it.

Abstract Fiber

Abstract Fiber

Only problem is I want to cast in something in every type of yarn and I only have so many hours in a day! I need four hands so I can knit two projects at a time (I’m ignoring the fact that I can’t walk and chew gum so two projects on one brain, regardless of the number of hands is probably out of the question!).
I also rearranged the store, again, just a bit. I wanted the new yarn to be the first thing you see when you walk in because, wow! But the needles where in that spot – so I moved the needles! At least for a while. I seem to be averaging one rearrangement per week.

Needles in a new place

Needles in a new place

What else is going on? Well, I’m still working on the hat for the hatless headform. I changed my mind (normal occurrence); I was going to make a basic stocking cap, but a new pattern came in that just yelled “MAKE ME!” so I am. I ripped out the cap I had started and cast on for the new beret; seriously cute beret by the way, if you are wanting to start a winter hat, you might want to consider this one.

Butten Beret in progress
Button Beret – the hat for the hatless headform

We also decorated for the 4th of July!  In two ways.  One – more American made yarn!  Two – our own fireworks in the window!  I crocheted simple stars and my sister and I hung them in the window this morning; technically, she hung them and I handed them two her (I don’t like ladders!).

 
Fireworks in the window

Fireworks in the window

Leave a Reply

