What’s new this week!

June is just flying by! Which means that the Grand Opening Celebration is getting closer!  Mark your calendars for June 21 to 25 – we’ll have specials all week and yummy things to munch on while you browse.

What else is going on? There is still space for the toe-up sock class, so let me know if you want to come learn how to make toe-up socks. By-the-by, if you can make toe-up socks, you can make mittens (which are really just socks for your hands) and hats (premie hats if you are in a donative mood – or just the type you plop on your head when it’s cold; of course with this weather, cold is not an issue. But I have a really good air conditioner so come hang out and knit or crochet where it’s lovely and cool!).

What was I saying? Lost my self in that section of creative grammar. Oh yeah! Saturday. So, sock class from 2 to 4; beginners knitting from 10 to 11:30; and the Knit-In-Public event at the McPherson Public Library (yet another place with good air conditioning!) from 9 to 6. AND Men In Tights Under the Lights, a fund-raiser for CASA (Court Appointed Special Advocates – for kids who need a caring adult to look out for them) – I helped dress some of the contestants and boy! I can’t wait to see them!
Back to yarn – SALE!!!! I have a rather large order coming in next week and need to make room. Select Cascade 220 – Heathers, Paints, Quatro, and Regular – are on sale 20% off! Come dig through the bargain bin and see if anything screams to join your stash!  And  – new in –  Superwash Bulky from Brown Sheep, and the Phoebe’s Sweater book, which uses Superwash Bulky to make the super adorable girls hooded cardigan from the name.

My current obsession with lace continues.  I’ve finished the “Citron Shawlette” in the Pagewood Farms Artesana Lace Yarn (in Fruit Freeze) and I barely finished blocking it and hanging it on the wall for display when I started thinking “what lace can I cast on now?”  I’m leaning toward the “Dahlia Shawl” by Lisa Naskrent that was featured in the Interweave Crochet (Spring 2011).  It’s a lovely crochet-lace, triangular shawl.  Of course I also have 4 pairs of socks I want to do, a broom stick lace scarf, the afghan, and a halter top I’m getting close to finishing.  And new yarn coming in next week – you’ll have to get on the Oh Yarn It group page on Ravelry (www.ravelry.com) to see what I cast on next!

PS:  Happy Birthday to all my June-baby friends and family – and there are a lot of them!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terrie G
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 04:48:25

    So I just found your store & blog from ravelry! So excited that there is a store in McPherson! I’m interested in the Toe-up sock class! Do you still have room? It’s on my list of things to learn to do this year! 🙂 Best of luck with the store!

    Reply

    • ohyarnitshop
      Jun 09, 2011 @ 15:29:02

      Yes, there is still room in the toe-up sock class! The class is on the 11th (toes) and the 18th (heels) from 2 to 4 PM, the cost is $25 and you’ll need your supplies (yarn and either double points or a circular of at least 24″ in the appropriate size for your yarn. The yarn can be sock yarn, or if you want to do warm fuzzies for winter, worsted.)
      Thanks!
      Lorrie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

