What’s wrong with Grandmother’s crocheting?

So, I’ve been pondering something lately. I keep reading and hearing the phrase “Not your grandmother’s knitting” (or crocheting, or whatever the needle art is). Which made me ask this question in turn: “What’s wrong with my grandmother’s crochet? And, in my case, my great aunt’s knitting?” It’s because of them that I knit and crochet.

We had a big parade here in McPherson last week – it was a bit chilly (downright cold actually) and a lot of people had blankets or afghans to wrap up in. I have a granny square afghan that my grandmother made when I was a kid on display in my front window; the day after the parade I had several people come in to ask if I had that pattern for sell. They had seen similar afghans at the parade and wanted to make one. I was intending on copying the pattern eventually – eventually turned out to be a lot sooner than I thought it would be!

So, I’ve been spending my free time alternating between a lace shawl, 2 pairs of socks, and granny squares. All these are things my grandmothers, great-grandmothers and great-aunts (and at least one uncle I know of) would have worked on at sometime in their lives. They might not have used bright. lime-green yarn, but the theory is the same.  As far as I’m concerned, there is nothing wrong with “grandmother’s crocheting”!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Leanne
    May 19, 2011 @ 02:49:28

    I totally agree!! It seems like when I first really go into crafting, I would hear that phrase and didn’t think much about it…and when I really started thinking about it, I realized it ain’t right! Grandma’s crocheting, knitting, sewing, and pretty much everything else, is the best!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

